Cats is a musical composed by Andrew Lloyd Webber based on Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats by T.




It tells the story of a tribe of cats called the Jellicles and the night they make the Jellicle choice, deciding which cat will ascend to the Heaviside Layer and come back to a new life.

The musical is known for its iconic dance numbers, fantastical costumes, and memorable songs, including the hit song Memory.

The narrative, largely driven by music and dance, explores various cat characters and their individual stories.

About the show

Songs from Cats

  1. Overture
  2. Jellicle Songs for Jellicle Cats
  3. The Naming of Cats
  4. The Invitation to the Jellicle Ball
  5. The Old Gumbie Cat
  6. The Rum Tum Tugger
  7. Grizabella: The Glamour Cat
  8. Bustopher Jones: The Cat About Town
  9. Mungojerrie and Rumpleteazer
  10. Old Deuteronomy
  11. The Awefull Battle of the Pekes and the Pollicles
  12. The Song of the Jellicles
  13. Grizabella: The Glamour Cat (Reprise)
  14. The Moments of Happiness
  15. Gus: The Theatre Cat
  16. Growltiger’s Last Stand
  17. Skimbleshanks: The Railway Cat
  18. Macavity: The Mystery Cat
  19. Mr. Mistoffelees
  20. Memory
  21. The Journey to the Heaviside Layer
  22. The Ad-Dressing of Cats