Ragtime: The Musical weaves together the stories of three diverse families in pursuit of the American dream at the turn of the 20th century.


The narrative explores the intermingling of African Americans, upper-class suburbanites, and Eastern European immigrants, highlighting the societal and cultural shifts of the time.

Central figures include Coalhouse Walker Jr., a Harlem musician; Mother, a woman of privilege who discovers her compassionate voice; and Tateh, a Jewish immigrant artist.

Their stories confront issues of race, class, and politics, culminating in a mosaic of American life.

With a score that blends ragtime, gospel, and traditional musical theater, the show captures the complexities and tensions of early 20th-century America, celebrating the resilience and interconnectedness of its people.

About the show

Songs from Ragtime

  1. Prologue: Ragtime
  2. Goodbye, My Love
  3. Journey On
  4. The Crime of the Century
  5. What Kind of Woman
  6. A Shtetl Iz Amereke
  7. Success
  8. His Name Was Coalhouse Walker
  9. Getting Ready Rag
  10. Henry Ford
  11. Nothing Like the City
  12. Your Daddy’s Son
  13. The Courtship
  14. New Music
  15. Wheels of a Dream
  16. The Night That Goldman Spoke at Union Square
  17. Gliding
  18. The Trashing of the Car
  19. Justice
  20. Till We Reach That Day
  21. Entr’acte
  22. Coalhouse’s Soliloquy
  23. Coalhouse Demands
  24. What a Game
  25. Fire in the City
  26. Atlantic City
  27. Buffalo Nickel Photoplay, Inc.
  28. Our Children
  29. Harlem Nightclub
  30. Sarah Brown Eyes
  31. He Wanted to Say
  32. Back to Before
  33. Look What You’ve Done
  34. Make Them Hear You
  35. Epilogue: Ragtime (Reprise) / Wheels of a Dream (Reprise)